NCAA Soccer Rules; Teammate Enters Early at a Penalty

Rich Gramolini spotted this interesting NCAA rules interpretation in a recent issue of Referee Magazine:

During a penalty kick, a teammate of the kicker enters the penalty area before the ball is kicked. The goalkeeper deflects the ball over the crossbar. What action should the referee take? Ruling: For NCAA games, award a goal kick (AR 14.3.2).

This interpretation has been confirmed by Ken Andres, NCAA Secretary Rules Editor.

NISOA Life Membership Award for Jerry Stoopack

Jerry Stoopack has been recognized by NISOA for his career accomplishments, commitment to NISOA and intercollegiate soccer with their prestigious Life Member award. Jerry was a long time officer of the chapter Executive Board as well as a key member in the Eastern ISOA team that negotiated several contracts with the ECAC in the 1990s and early 2000s.

Jerry joins several distinguished chapter members who have received the NISOA Life Award.  Prior NY Metro chapter Life Membership award winners include Dick Jamison, Mike Moskowitz and Werner Rothschild. The chapter executive board is pleased to congratulate Jerry on this notable award.