NCAA Soccer Rules; Teammate Enters Early at a Penalty

by John Puglisi, NISOA Past - President, NISOA National clinician and NISOA local assessor.

Rich Gramolini spotted this interesting NCAA rules interpretation in a recent issue of Referee Magazine:

During a penalty kick, a teammate of the kicker enters the penalty area before the ball is kicked. The goalkeeper deflects the ball over the crossbar. What action should the referee take? Ruling: For NCAA games, award a goal kick (AR 14.3.2).

This interpretation has been confirmed by Ken Andres, NCAA Secretary Rules Editor.

This entry was posted on Monday, April 30th, 2012 at 9:57 am and is filed under Instruction with keyword(s) . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

No Comments yet

Comments are closed.